News Archives

Cooperstown, Site of Atlanta Braves Reunion in 2014; Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, and Bobby Cox on Ballot for First Time

August 17th, 2013 at 8:06 AM
By David Batson

Atlanta Braves fans should reserve their tickets now for an exciting reunion taking place next July at the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY. With Braves legends Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine joining former manager Bobby Cox and former general manager John Schuerholz on on the ballot for the first time, next year’s class will prove to be one for the ages in Cooperstown.

'Bobby Cox' photo (c) 2010, Bryce Edwards - license:

Cooperstown, already a mecca for baseball fans, will be even more special in 2014 with first timers Frank Thomas, Tony LaRussa, Joe Torre, and Mike Mussina, among others, joining the Braves foursome on the ballot.

Fans who followed the Braves over the past two decades will find this year’s class to be especially memorable.

The Braves won fourteen consecutive division titles between 1991 and 2005, a major league record, including a World Series championship in 1995. That streak should prove to be one of baseball’s safest records and Glavine commented during a recent Braves telecast that he does not see the record ever being broken.

The potential to have the engineer for those teams, GM Schuerholz, along with skipper Cox, and two of their best starting pitchers, Maddux and Glavine all inducted together solidifies the greatness of the teams they were associated with.

Schuerholz and Cox will be considered by the Veterans Committee and should also receive first ballot offers for induction into the Hall.

Cox, always considered a player’s manager, ranks fourth on the all-time wins list for MLB managers with 2,504 wins in his major league career.

Maddux and Glavine, along with John Smoltz, who is eligible for induction in 2015, anchored a Braves staff during the nineties that was arguably the best in major league history. A staff of aces, they racked up nearly every major award offered during their tenure with the Braves.

Maddux won 355 games during his career and four consecutive Cy Young awards between 1992 through 1995. Glavine notched 305 career wins and Cy Young awards in 1991 and 1998. The two accounted for six of the eight Cy Young awards given out between 1991 and 1998. Smoltz won the award in 1996.

Their individual accolades along with their team's greatness leave no doubt about their status among major league legends.

Any baseball fan or sports fan, regardless of their team allegiance, would agree that the Braves quartet of Maddux, Glavine, Cox, and Schuerholz are first-ballot Hall of Famers, deserving of their enshrinement in Cooperstown.


Gearing up for the fantasy season? Try weekly fantasy football games this year at DraftDay has awarded over $15 million to fantasy fans like you, so don't miss out on the newest way to play fantasy football! Create your free account and use promo code GIFT for an instant cash bonus.

Tags: Atlanta, Atlanta Braves, Baseball, Bobby Cox, Greg Maddux, John Schuerholz, John Smoltz, MLB, Tom Glavine

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: