News Archives

A Quick Look at 2013 Home Run Derby Rules

July 15th, 2013 at 9:08 AM
By Cody Fields

Anyone with questions about the 2013 Home Run Derby rules is in luck. They're both simple and right here, so you know can what's going on Monday at Citi Field.

The National League captain is New York Mets third baseman David Wright. He has picked Bryce Harper (Washington Nationals), Michael Cuddyer (Colorado Rockies) and Pedro Alvarez (Pittsburgh Pirates).

New York Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano picked the American League's team, which consists of Chris Davis (Baltimore Orioles), Prince Fielder (Detroit Tigers) and Yoenis Cespedes (Oakland Athletics).

In each round, participants get 10 outs, which translate for the Derby into any swing that doesn't result in a home run.

After the first round, the players with the top four home run totals will move on to the second round, after which the two with the most homers in that round will move on to the final round.

There is also a charitable aspect to the Home Run Derby.

Once a player hits nine outs in a round, a Gold Ball will be used. Every homer hit with a Gold Ball will result in Chevrolet and Major League Baseball combining on a $23,000 donation to charity. Chevy and MLB will donate $3,000 for every other homer hit.

A $150,000 donation will be made to a charity chosen by the winning team's captain, and a $100,000 donation will be given in the name of said captain to the Boys & Girls Clubs of America.

Additionally, each player will be paired with a child representing one of the eight Reviving Baseball in Inner Cities (RBI) Leagues in the New York area. The winner will get $50,000 toward a baseball field renovation, while the other leagues will receive $10,000.


Photo Credit: Al_HikesAZ via Compfight cc

Tags: Atlanta, Atlanta Braves, Baseball, Chris Davis, David Wright, Home Run Derby, MLB, Prince Fielder, Robinson Cano

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: