News Archives

Atlanta Braves to Retire Chipper Jones’ Number in Pregame Ceremony Friday

June 28th, 2013 at 9:13 AM
By Cody Fields

The time has come. A scant eight months after Chipper Jones retired, the Atlanta Braves will retire his no. 10 in a pregame ceremony at Turner Field on Friday before they take on the Arizona Diamondbacks.

In the 20 years since he made his Major League debut, the Ted saw Chipper win the 1999 National League MVP and hit a homer in the 2000 All-Star Game. It's also where he won the NL batting title in 2008 with a .364 batting average and otherworldly .470 on-base percentage. It also happened that Jones' final homer was a walk-off over the Philadelphia Phillies. He even got a base hit in his final at-bat, albeit in that fateful 2012 Wild Card game.

The Braves had five numbers retired when Jones first arrived on the scene - Hank Aaron (44), Eddie Mathews (41), Warren Spahn (21), Phil Niekro (35) and Dale Murphy (3). Now he'll join four members of the legendary 1990s Braves teams - Greg Maddux (31), Tom Glavine (47), Bobby Cox (6) and John Smoltz (29).

"I think every time I walk in that stadium from now on, I'll look up there and I'll be in disbelief," Jones said on "I think if I were to walk in there every day and see it, I might get used to it. But now that I don't walk in there every day, it's still going to be hard for me to believe."

This will mark the fifth consecutive year in which the Braves will retire a number from the member of those 90s teams, which won a record 14 straight division titles from 1991-2005 and won the 1995 World Series.

In a particularly incredible stat, the Braves have played 162 playoff games all-time. Jones has played in 93 of those.

"I think everybody who is a part of Braves Country, their fondest memories of being a Braves fan are the 1990s — from worst to first in '91 and our last World Series appearance in '99," Jones said. "I'm kind of the last face from that decade. We had a good run and I'm very proud of my teammates, my manager and my coaches in all that we accomplished over the past 20 years."

Chipper will be eligible for Hall of Fame induction in 2018 and has joined Stan Musial, Babe Ruth, Ted Williams and Lou Gehrig as the only players in Major League history to record at least 2,500 hits, 1,500 walks, 1,500 runs, 500 doubles, 450 home runs and 1,500 RBIs, while hitting .300 with a .400 on-base percentage and .500 slugging percentage.

The pre-game ceremony will start at approximately 6:55 p.m. EDT and will be streamed live on

Tags: Atlanta, Atlanta Braves, Baseball, Bobby Cox, Chipper Jones, Dale Murphy, Greg Maddux, Hank Aaron, John Smoltz, MLB, Phil Niekro, Philadelphia Phillies, Tom Glavine, Warren Spahn

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: