News Archives

Atlanta Braves Right Fielder Jason Heyward up for Hank Aaron Award

October 11th, 2012 at 2:59 PM
By Zach Powell

For the past twelve years, the Hank Aaron Award has been given to the top offensive player in each league. Past winners include players like Barry Bonds, Alex Rodriguez and Albert Pujols. Could Atlanta Braves right fielder Jason Heyward be next in line?

Heyward has been nominated as a finalist representing the Braves, and the award will be decided by a combination of fan vote and a panel of Hall of Fame players including Hank Aaron, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan and Robin Young.

Jason finished the season with a .269 average, 27 home runs, and set a career high with 82 runs batted in and 21 stolen bases. 

Heyward will face some tough competition from the award, going up against the likes of Ryan Braun of the Milwaukee Brewers, Buster Posey of the San Fransisco Giants, and fellow National League East players David Wright of the New York Mets and Giancarlo Stanton of the Miami Marlins. The AL's Derek Jeter is the only player to have won the Hank Aaron Award in years past to be nominated this season.

Mr. Aaron had this to say about the award:

"It's a real privilege to have my name on the award that recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each league," Aaron said. "With so many talented players in the game today, I am thankful to have the assistance of my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans to select the winners."

If you want to vote for Jason to win the award, you have until October 16th, and can vote at The winners will be announced during the World Series.

Tags: Atlanta, Atlanta Braves, Derek Jeter, Hank Aaron, Jason Heyward, MLB

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: